Today I got to practice one of the most essential skills you will learn as a nurse = starting an intravenous (IV) line. I've seen what seems like millions started at my previous job as tech on an Ambulatory Surgery unit. It was the nurses' job to insert an IV catheter into a patient's vein prior to their surgery. This IV access is then attached to tubing connecting the patient to an IV bag filled with saline solution and electrolytes. This allows patients to stay hydrated and gave nurses access to administer medications without re-sticking a patient.
While the task may look easy enough... just find a vein and let'em have it... its not. Some veins roll; some are not long enough to accommodate the length of the catheter; some are really, really, really, REALLY tiny; and some are just dried up and busted. Ideally, you want to use a vertical, straight vein that runs parallel to the arm. No horizontal or squiggly lines for this nurse :P
So I got to shadow a nurse at my hospital's peri-op area (where patients get ready for surgery). I first watched her start 2 IVs and then it was my turn from then on. I actually got in on my FIRST try!!! Yay!! I swear, only nurses get excited when they see the flashback of blood in the catheter hub... kinda like getting excited over urine flow when inserting a foley catheter :P Anyways, I think my initial success was beginner's luck as my next try was not as successful. The vein kept rolling. After my second attempt, I gave the task over to the nurse. The next patient I saw didn't want a new, inexperienced nurse doing her IV. She said that she was a "hard stick" and I respected her decision. I know she didn't want to be mean and in all honesty, no one wants to be a pin-cushion. I always stick to the assertion that patients know their own bodies the best, but they also have to trust their nurses and doctors. In this case, I knew that I was inexperienced and was more likely to have missed. My third attempt was also unsuccessful. I thought I had a nice, juicy vein, but I think it was too short or I hit a valve (aka brickwall). Either way, I accidentally busted the vein :/
Well, I ended my time on a good note. My last attempt was a success. Quick and easy :) So I'm 2 for 2 right now. Not too bad for a newbie according to my educator! I know that as I start working on my actual unit I'll have TONS of opportunities to start IVs, whether it's for new patients being admitted onto to the unit or crazies pulling their IVs out. Luckily, as the saying goes... practice makes perfect!
Wednesday, September 22, 2010
Thursday, September 16, 2010
Orientation...
... should I say re-orientation. This started off my orientation to a new hospital and a new job as a registered nurse. After graduating from nursing school, I have to honest and admit that I procrastinated a bit. I waited almost 2 months before taking the NCLEX (nursing licensure examination or the nursing boards). Luckily, I passed! Thank god too because I never want to relive that nightmare. Everyone always says that it's the hardest test you will ever take as a nurse; it is! Everyone always says that they walked out thinking that they failed; you do! And everyone is ridiculously thrilled when they learn that they passed; you are! Obtaining my license in the mail was one of most happiest and proudest moments of my life.
I consider myself among the luck/blessed new grads that found obtaining a job easier rather than harder. I was able to score 3 interviews at 2 different hospitals. I got accepted to work as a telemetry nurse in a small, local hospital. In layman's terms, I work on unit and with patients who have heart complications (post-heart attacks, chest pain, congestive heart failure, etc) and are hooked up to heart monitors while they are being hospitalized. Oh, and I'll be working the night shift = 7pm-7am :)
So this week was my orientation week. I spent three days in a hotel conference room with other new hires from 3 different hospitals under one health system. We learned about the health systems mission, policies & procedures, views towards health case, as well as received information on medical benefits, retirement plans, etc. It was fun meeting new people, but the material and powerpoints were extremely boring. Plus the hotel was freezing. I just kept reminding myself that I was getting paid to be there and at least we got a free lunch.
Today was my first day orienting to the hospital on-site. I also FINALLY felt like a really nurse! A newly graduate nurse, but all nurses had they feeling at some point in the beginning of their career. Even though the majority of the day was spent going over more policies and procedure, I was excited and anxious for the first time since getting hired. It hit me that 1) I'm going to be responsible for 4-6 human lives during my shift, 2) I could easily kill a person as I could save them, and 3) I'm alone in a new hospital. Well, not completely alone. I made a friend with another nurse who I will be working with. I can only hope/pray that 1) I don't kill anyone and 2) I learn to love this new job/life as much as I loved the former hospital I worked in.
Well, I guess only time will tell. Tomorrow is my second day orienting to the hospital. More computer education, a medication administration test, and orientation to my actual unit :) I can only hope that my new co-workers like me *fingers crossed*
I consider myself among the luck/blessed new grads that found obtaining a job easier rather than harder. I was able to score 3 interviews at 2 different hospitals. I got accepted to work as a telemetry nurse in a small, local hospital. In layman's terms, I work on unit and with patients who have heart complications (post-heart attacks, chest pain, congestive heart failure, etc) and are hooked up to heart monitors while they are being hospitalized. Oh, and I'll be working the night shift = 7pm-7am :)
So this week was my orientation week. I spent three days in a hotel conference room with other new hires from 3 different hospitals under one health system. We learned about the health systems mission, policies & procedures, views towards health case, as well as received information on medical benefits, retirement plans, etc. It was fun meeting new people, but the material and powerpoints were extremely boring. Plus the hotel was freezing. I just kept reminding myself that I was getting paid to be there and at least we got a free lunch.
Today was my first day orienting to the hospital on-site. I also FINALLY felt like a really nurse! A newly graduate nurse, but all nurses had they feeling at some point in the beginning of their career. Even though the majority of the day was spent going over more policies and procedure, I was excited and anxious for the first time since getting hired. It hit me that 1) I'm going to be responsible for 4-6 human lives during my shift, 2) I could easily kill a person as I could save them, and 3) I'm alone in a new hospital. Well, not completely alone. I made a friend with another nurse who I will be working with. I can only hope/pray that 1) I don't kill anyone and 2) I learn to love this new job/life as much as I loved the former hospital I worked in.
Well, I guess only time will tell. Tomorrow is my second day orienting to the hospital. More computer education, a medication administration test, and orientation to my actual unit :) I can only hope that my new co-workers like me *fingers crossed*
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)